9 Jan 2024 14:42

EAEU chairmanship passes to Armenia

MINSK. Jan 9 (Interfax) - The chairmanship of the Eurasian Economic Union passed to Armenia on January 1.

"As of January 1, 2024, the Republic of Armenia assumed the presidency of the bodies of the Eurasian Economic Union, and in 2024 will preside over the Supreme Eurasian Economic Council, the Eurasian Intergovernmental Council and the Council of the Eurasian Economic Commission," the EEC press service reported on Monday.

To mark Armenia's chairmanship, there will be a meeting of the Supreme Eurasian Economic Council in Moscow dedicated to the tenth anniversary of the Eurasian Economic Union. The Third Eurasian Economic Forum, a meeting of the Eurasian Intergovernmental Council, and a number of other events are also planned.

"In the near future, the Prime Minister of the Republic of Armenia, Chairman of the Supreme Eurasian Economic Council and the Eurasian Intergovernmental Council Nikol Pashinyan is expected to address the heads of state of the Eurasian Economic Union to highlight the priorities of Armenia's chairmanship in the EAEU bodies," the statement says.

In accordance with the Treaty on the EAEU, the chairmanship of the Supreme Council, the Intergovernmental Council and the Commission Council is carried out on a rotational basis in the order of the Russian alphabet by one member state for one calendar year without the right of extension.

The Eurasian Economic Union includes Russia, Armenia, Belarus, Kazakhstan and Kyrgyzstan.