12 Dec 2023 13:28

EAEU operators on work with navigation seals sign cooperation agreement

MINSK. Dec 12 (Interfax) - Representatives of Armenia, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan and Russia signed an agreement on cooperation among the authorized operators of Eurasian Economic Union (EAEU) members at the headquarters of the Eurasian Economic Commission (EEC), the EEC reported.

"The document is needed to implement the agreement on application of navigation seals to track shipments," the EEC said.

"The use of navigation seals in the EAEU, on one hand, will make it possible ensure the transparency and legality of shipments and, on the other, minimize control measures over goods en route. Thus, the implementation of the agreement will make it possible to simplify and accelerate the process of delivering freight to the recipient," the EEC said.

The agreement on the use of navigation seals in the EAEU to track shipments was signed by the member countries' leaders in April 2022 and went into effect in April 2023. A number of measures, both at the national and commission levels, needed to be carried out before the agreement is applied. The list of measures is laid out in a roadmap. Work on this is in the final stage, the EEC said.

Practical experience gained in experiments conducted by the countries - in regard to forest products between Belarus and Russia and in regard to shipments of goods in mutual trade among Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan and Russia - was factored into the preparation of second-level acts.

Based on the deadlines set by the agreement, its practical implementation should begin at the start of 2024.