4 Dec 2023 13:57

Russian govt approves list of towns, territories to serve as Arctic development base

ST. PETERSBURG. Dec 4 (Interfax) - The Russian government has approved a list of areas that will serve as the base for economic and infrastructure projects in the Arctic, the government website said.

"The government continues to work on the accelerated social and economic development of the Russian Arctic zone. A resolution has been signed to approve a list of populated areas in the Arctic that will serve as a base for economic and infrastructure projects," the website said.

The list consists of 16 agglomerations in nine regions within the Russian Arctic zone: Kem-Belomorsk (Karelia), Vorkuta (Komi), Tiksi-Naiba (Yakutia), Norilsk-Dudinka, Dikson and Igarka (all of which are in Krasnoyarsk Territory), Arkhangelsk (Arkhangelsk region), Murmansk, Kirov-Apatity and Monchegorsk (all of which are in the Murmansk region), Naryan-Mar (the Nenets Autonomous Region), Pevek and Anadyr (the Chukchi Autonomous Region), and Novy Urengoi, Salekhard-Labytnangi and Noyabrsk (the Yamal-Nenets Autonomous Region).

For instance, the cities of Murmansk and Severomorsk and the Kola municipal district will constitute the base in the Murmansk region, alongside Arkhangelsk, Severodvinsk and Novodvinsk in the Arkhangelsk agglomeration.

"Some of these localities situated near mineral deposits will be the base for development of mineral resource centers supporting the metallurgical industry. Other cities and regions will support priority investment projects, such as the opening of logistics centers," the website said.

Long-term plans for comprehensive socioeconomic development are due to be approved for the listed agglomerations in the near future.