31 Aug 2023 13:30

ENTSO‐E first president Dobbeni to chair Ukrenergo Supervisory Board

MOSCOW. Aug 31 (Interfax) - The Supervisory Board of the Ukrenergo electricity transmission system operator, which had no chair since the moment of its establishment in December 2021, is now headed by independent member Daniel Dobbeni, Ukrainian media said with the reference to a company statement published on a social network.

The media said the Ukrenergo Supervisory Board made the decision on August 28.

"The Ukrenergo Management Board welcomes Daniel Dobbeni election as the Supervisory Board head. His professional experience will be very useful for the strategic development of the company," the statement quoted Ukrenergo CEO Vladimir Kudritsky as saying.

Ukrenergo highly appreciates the corporate management principles, the unbiased, independent work and the constructive role of the Supervisory Board in the company's dealing with challenges and ordeals, he said.

Dobbeni has over 40 years of experience in the energy sector, Ukrenergo said. He was elected first president of the European Network of Transmission System Operators (ENTSO-E) in 2008. He also served as president of the 50Hertz GmbH German electricity transmission system operator and vice-president and president of the GO15 association. He was the general director of the Belgian-German Elia Group in 2003-2012.

As reported, the Ukrainian Energy Ministry confirmed all members of the Ukrenergo Supervisory Board in early December 2021. The Board comprised independent members Dejan Ostojic, Peder Andreasen, Daniel Dobbeni and Roman Pionkowski and government representatives Yury Tokarsky, Mikhail Ilnitsky and Yury Boiko.

The Energy Ministry granted Ostoijic's request for withdrawal from independent membership in the Supervisory Board in April 2022. Prior to that, the Energy Ministry replaced Ilnitsky with Alexander Baranyuk on January 6, 2022. Ilnitsky was appointed head of Ukrainian Distribution Grids, established to manage corporate rights of the state in regional energy companies.