23 Jun 2023 16:07

Moscow broadens entry ban list of EU, European institution reps in response to new sanctions

MOSCOW. June 23 (Interfax) - Russia has broadened the list of representatives of European Union member states and European institutions prohibited from entering its territory, the Russian Foreign Ministry said in a statement on its website on Friday.

The statement says that Moscow deems the European Union's 11th package of sanctions against Russia, approved on June 23, to be "illegal and undermining the international legal prerogatives of the UN Security Council."

"In response to such unfriendly actions, the Russian side has considerably broadened the list of representatives of European institutions and EU member states that [...] are prohibited from entering the territory of our country," the ministry said.

The list includes representatives of law enforcement agencies and public and commercial entities of EU member states, citizens of EU member states associated with military assistance to Ukraine, representatives of European institutions responsible for imposing sanctions on Russia, and a number of European parliamentarians. The ministry withheld the names of sanctioned individuals.

"We affirm that any unfriendly moves by Western nations will continue to receive a prompt and proportionate response," the ministry said.

Earlier on Friday, the European Union adopted its 11th package of sanctions against Russia. The restrictions apply to 71 individuals and 33 legal entities, including Deputy Defense Minister Tatyana Shevtsova, Crimean Culture Minister Tatyana Manezhina, Voronezh Governor Alexander Gusev, Krasnodar Governor Veniamin Kondratyev, Stavropol Governor Vladimir Vladimirov, Kamchatka Governor Vladimir Solodov, Magadan Governor Sergei Nosov, and some others.