18 May 2023 09:25

Russian and Belarusian FMs sign joint statement on shared foreign policy priorities

MINSK. May 18 (Interfax) - The Russian and Belarusian foreign ministers signed a joint statement outlining the shared foreign policy priorities of the two countries, the press service for the Russian embassy in Minsk said.

"On May 17, [Russian Foreign Minister] Sergei Lavrov held talks with Foreign Minister of Belarus Sergei Aleinik, who was in Moscow on an official visit," the press service said.

Lavrov and Aleinik discussed a wide range of issues concerning bilateral cooperation and exchanged views on key topics on the global and regional agenda, it said.

"Special attention was given to the issue of diplomatic support of integration processes within the Union State, the Eurasian Economic Community, Collective Security Treaty Organization, and the Commonwealth of Independent States. The parties emphasized the importance of further deepening bilateral trade and economic cooperation and of strengthening interparliamentary, interregional, cultural and humanitarian ties," the press service said.

"The ministers agreed to increase coordination and mutual support within international and regional organizations, act together with like-minded countries to counteract attempts by the 'collective West' to politicize their work and to impose their own 'world order rules' as opposed to international law," it said.

"An agreement was reached to enhance cooperation and coordination between the Foreign Ministries as part of their work on international platforms, including during the implementation of the 2022-2023 joint action program in the field of foreign policy of the signatory states to the Treaty on the Establishment of the Union State," it said.

In conclusion of the talks, the ministers signed a joint statement dealing with the common foreign policy priorities of Russia and Belarus.

"The visit by the foreign minister of friendly Belarus once again confirmed the strengthening strategic allied relations between our countries," the press service said.