31 Jan 2023 13:33

Ukrainian govt approves 5 independent supervisory board members of state-owned Ukrgasbank

MOSCOW. Jan 31 (Interfax) - The Ukrainian government has approved five independent members of the supervisory board of the state-owned Ukrgasbank (Kiev), and only Yury Blashchuk retained his position on it.

As reported by Ukrainian media referring to the government's directive dated January 27 and published on its website on Monday, the new independent members of Ukrgasbank's supervisory board are former acting Hoist Finance CEO Per Anders Fasth, Addiko Bank Bosnia and Herzegovina supervisory board member Sanela Pasic, Santander Consumer Bank Supervisory Board Chairman Dariusz Gafka, and former Ukrainian State Property Fund deputy head Taras Yeleiko.

The supervisory board also incudes two representatives of the state, namely Yana Bugrimova, former chief of the Finance Ministry's reform office, and Marina Lazebnaya, former social policy minister.

Former independent members Oksana Volchko, Slawomir Konias, and Shrenik Davda and its former Chairman Teimour Bagirov are leaving the supervisory board.

Ukrgasbank was set up in 1993. The state, represented by the Finance Ministry, holds a 94.94% stake in it.

According to the National Bank of Ukraine, Ukrgasbank ranked fifth by total assets (150.03 billion hryvni) among the 67 operating Ukrainian banks as of December 1, 2022. Its net losses over the first 11 months of 2022 amounted to 3.754 billion hryvni.