16 Sep 2022 09:29

Estonia to terminate customs cooperation agreement with Russia

TALLINN. Sept 16 (Interfax/BNS) - The Estonian government decided on Thursday to terminate the country's intergovernmental agreement with Russia on cooperation and mutual assistance on customs issues, BNS reported.

The agreement can be terminated by either party with written notification and remains in force for six months after the notification of termination.

Foreign Minister Urmas Reinsalu said this is an important step to reduce Estonia's relations with Russia to a minimum.

Poland, Latvia, Lithuania and Estonia are imposing restrictions on entry of Russian citizens with European Union visas as of September 19. This will not be a complete ban on entry.

The countries agreed that legal exceptions will remain in effect for dissidents, in humanitarian cases, for family members of permanent residents, for provision of freight and transport services, diplomatic missions, simplified transit of individuals to Kaliningrad Region and other cases, the prime ministers of these countries said in a joint statement.