8 Sep 2022 13:23

Estonia to ban entry for Russians, including Schengen visa holders, from Sept 19

TALLINN. Sept 8 (Interfax) - Estonia will ban Russian citizens, including those who have Schengen visas issued by third countries, from entering its territory starting September 19, Estonian Foreign Minister Urmas Reinsalu said.

"A ban for citizens of Russia to enter [Estonia] via the external borders regardless of which state has issued their Schengen visas will take effect overnight into September 19 or at midnight on September 19," Reinsalu said at a press conference on Thursday.

Other states of the Baltic region will do the same, he said.

The minister said that his advice for Russian citizens is the following: "Do not come to Estonia with Schengen visas, you are not welcome here!"

The ban applies to Russian citizens traveling with tourist visas, but does not affect Russians who will arrive in Estonia to visit their relatives and for other humanitarian reasons, he said.