26 Aug 2022 18:31

Norway joins 7th package of EU sanctions on Russia

BERLIN. Aug 26 (Interfax) - Norway has joined the seventh package of sanctions imposed by the European Union against Russia on July 21, 2022, the Norwegian Foreign Ministry stated on Friday.

"Once again we are acting in concert with the EU to impose sanctions on Russia to maintain pressure on the Russian Government and listed members of the Russian elite," Foreign Minister Anniken Huitfelde said.

The sanctions further limit the possibilities for commercial operations with Russia. In addition, sanctions were extended to another more than 50 individuals, including Moscow Mayor Sergei Sobyanin and Rostec chief Sergei Chemezov, and ten legal entities including Sberbank .

The seventh package also bans direct and indirect import, the purchase or transfer of gold.

In total, there are more than 1,200 individuals and more than 100 legal entities on the list of Norway's anti-Russian sanctions.