18 Aug 2022 15:26

Armenian National Security Service presents plan to open 3 checkpoints on border with Azerbaijan

YEREVAN. Aug 18 (Interfax) - The Armenian National Security Service has presented a plan to open three checkpoints on the border with Azerbaijan for the Armenian government's consideration.

The draft published on the Armenian government's web portal of legal information says that the three checkpoints - Sotk-Kaljabar [in the Gegharkunik region of northeastern Armenia], Yeraskh-Sadarak [in the Ararat region of southwestern Armenia, the border with Nakhichevan] and Karahunj-Eivazli [in the Syunik region of southeastern Armenia - will be open for vehicles.

The checkpoints will open the day after they are built and equipped, it said.

The explanatory note says that the bill is proposed in fulfillment of Armenian Prime Minister Nikolai Pashinyan's orders.

"Once the checkpoints open, security will be provided and people, goods, and vehicles may cross the border," the draft said.

The decision is expected to be made at the next government meeting on August 25.

Pashinyan said at a government meeting on August 4 that Armenia was ready to provide Azerbaijan with land routes to the Nakhichevan Autonomous Republic but Baku did not use the opportunity.