22 Jul 2022 10:16

Russia adds Greece, Denmark, Slovenia, Croatia, Slovakia to list of unfriendly foreign states - decree

MOSCOW. July 22 (Interfax) - Greece, Denmark, Slovenia, Croatia, and Slovakia have been included by Russia in its list of unfriendly foreign countries under a decree signed by Prime Minister Mikhail Mishustin, the Russian government's press service said on Friday.

"The government has updated the list of foreign states engaged in unfriendly activities directed against Russian embassies and consulates abroad. Greece, Denmark, Slovenia, Croatia, and Slovakia have been added to this list," the press service said.

The government specified the number of Russia-based individuals with whom the embassies and consulates of unfriendly countries are allowed to sign employment contracts.

Thus, under the document, this limit for Greece is set at 34 people, for Denmark at 20, and for Slovakia at 16.

Slovenia and Croatia cannot hire staff for their embassies and consulates in Russia at all, it said.

The current list endorsed by the government "is not final and may be updated further in light of foreign states' continuing hostile activities in relation to Russian missions abroad," the press service said.