18 Apr 2022 08:56

Wildfire season begins in 54 Russian regions, 13 declare wildfire alert - Emergency Situations Ministry

MOSCOW. April 18 (Interfax) - Russian Emergency Situations Ministry specialists are conducting wildfire monitoring nationwide, and 13 regions are on wildfire alert, the ministry press service said on Monday.

"The wildfire season has begun in 54 constituent territories of the Russian Federation, and 13 have declared wildfire alert," the press service said.

"The number of dry vegetation fires has been growing in Russian regions," it said.

"Over the past day, the burning of dry vegetation started a number of large fires in the Republic of Khakassia, the Krasnoyarsk Territory and the Kemerovo region," the press service said.