14 Apr 2022 09:19

Australia imposes sanctions on 14 Russian companies - Foreign Ministry

WASHINGTON. April 14 (Interfax) - The Australian government has introduced sanctions against 14 Russian companies over the situation in Ukraine, Australia's Foreign Ministry said.

"The Australian Government has imposed targeted financial sanctions on 14 Russian state-owned enterprises of strategic and economic importance to Russia," the Foreign Ministry said.

The entities targeted by the sanctions include Kamaz, Gazprom, Gazprom Neft, Transneft, Rostelecom, RusHydro, Sevmash, and the United Shipbuilding Corporation.

The measures also apply to JSC Ruselectronics, Russian Railways, the Novorossiysk Commercial Sea Port, Alrosa, Sogaz, and Sovcomflot.

"Our targeting of Russia's state-owned enterprises in coordination with key partners undermines their capacity to boost the Russian economy," the ministry said.

The ministry also reiterated Australia's "unwavering support for Ukraine's sovereignty and territorial integrity, and for the people of Ukraine."