4 Apr 2022 14:01

Fewer than half of reactors at Ukraine's NPPs operating - IAEA

KYIV. April 4 (Interfax) - Ukraine has halted operation of the No. 1 power unit at the Khmelnytsky nuclear power plant that remained in operation after the second power unit had cease operating in order to perform maintenance and repair work, resulting in only seven of the 15 current power units at the NPPs in the country's energy system remaining in operation, the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) reported, citing the State Nuclear Regulatory Inspectorate of Ukraine (SNRIU).

"Seven reactors are operating in the country, including two at the Russian-controlled Zaporizhzhya NPP, three at the Rovno NPP, and two at the South Ukraine NPP. The remaining reactors have been shut down for regular maintenance, including both units at the Khmelnytsky NPP," the IAEA said.

As previously reported, the No. 2 power unit at the Khmelnytsky NPP has been shut down since February 18 for scheduled preventative maintenance for approximately 92 days.

The national nuclear energy generating company, Energoatom, previously reported that three power units at the Zaporizhzhya NPP had been placed on standby.

Energoatom is the operator of all four functioning NPPs in Ukraine. The company operates 15 power units equipped with hydropower reactors with total installed electrical capacity of 13,835 GW.