30 Mar 2022 09:00

Temporary closure of 11 airports in southern Russia extended until Apr 7

MOSCOW. March 30 (Interfax) - The Federal Air Transport Agency (Rosaviatsiya) has extended the ban on flights to 11 airports in central and southern Russia for the sixth time, this time until April 7.

"Temporary restrictions on flights to the Russian airports of Anapa, Belgorod, Bryansk, Voronezh, Gelendzhik, Krasnodar, Kursk, Lipetsk, Rostov-on-Don, Simferopol and Elista have been extended until 3:45 a.m. on April 7," the agency said.

Airlines are recommended using the airports of Sochi, Volgograd, Mineralnye Vody, Stavropol and Moscow instead.

The rest of Russia's airports, including international ones, are operating as usual, the agency said.

Rosaviatsiya imposed restrictions on domestic flights on February 24, the day the Russian special military operation in Ukraine began. The restrictions have been repeatedly extended.