11 Mar 2022 14:44

UK imposes sanctions on 386 Duma members for recognizing independence of DPR, LPR

LONDON. March 11 (Interfax) - The United Kingdom imposed sanctions on 386 State Duma deputies on Friday in connection with Russia's recognition of the Donetsk and Luhansk People's Republics' independence, the British government said in a statement.

"Foreign Secretary Liz Truss has today (Friday 11 March) sanctioned 386 members of the Duma, the lower house of the Russian parliament, for their support for the Ukrainian breakaway regions of Luhansk and Donetsk," the statement, published on the British government website, said.

"The new sanctions will ban those listed from travelling to the UK, accessing assets held within the UK and doing business here," it said.

Since the beginning of the Russian special operation in Ukraine, "the UK has sanctioned more than 500 of Russia's most significant and high-value individuals, entities and subsidiaries," the statement said.

The UK imposed sanctions on Roman Abramovich, Oleg Deripaska and another five Russian businessmen on Thursday. A statement published on the British government website said their assets would be frozen and a travel ban would be enacted.

The British government also said that the law on economic crimes, which takes effect next week, will facilitate the imposition of sanctions on individuals.

Earlier in March, the UK blacklisted Russian businessman Alisher Usmanov and VEB Chairman Igor Shuvalov.

British Prime Minister Boris Johnson said that London and its partners were ready to impose sanctions on Russia for as long as it would take in the context of the events in Ukraine.