7 Mar 2022 14:29

All EU countries, U.S., Japan and S. Korea included in list countries unfriendly to Russia - Russian govt resolution

MOSCOW. March 7 (Interfax) - The Russian government has approved a list of foreign states and territories taking unfriendly actions against Russia, Russian companies and citizens.

Russian Prime Minister Mikhail Mishustin has signed a relevant order, the government press service said.

According to the document, the list includes the countries of the European Union, Australia, Albania, Andorra, the United Kingdom (including Jersey and British overseas territories - Anguilla, the British Virgin Islands, Gibraltar), Iceland, Canada, Liechtenstein, Micronesia, Monaco, New Zealand, Norway, South Korea, San Marino, North Macedonia, Singapore, the United States, Taiwan, Ukraine, Montenegro, Switzerland, and Japan.

The resolution was prepared under the Russian presidential decree of March 5, 2022 On Temporary Procedures for Fulfilling Obligations to Some Foreign Creditors.

Under this resolution, Russian citizens, companies, the state itself, its regions and municipalities that have forex obligations to foreign creditors from the list of unfriendly countries can pay them in rubles, the government said. To do that, a debtor can ask a Russian bank to create a special ruble account S in the name of the foreign creditor and put into it payments in a ruble equivalent at the Central Bank rate on the payment day.

The new temporary procedures apply to payments exceeding 10 million rubles a month (or a similar amount in foreign currency equivalent).