15 Dec 2021 16:31

Six parties to enter Kyrgyz parliament - CEC final data

BISHKEK. Dec 15 (Interfax) - The Kyrgyz Central Elections Commission (CEC) summed up the final results of the country's November 28 parliamentary elections at its meeting on Wednesday, saying that six parties will enter the parliament.

According to the commission's data, the leader of the parliamentary race is the ruling party Ata Zhurt Kyrgyzstan, which won 17.30% of the vote. The pro-governmental party Ishenim (Trust) is the first runner-up with 13.62% of the vote. It is followed by another pro-governmental party, Yntymak (Accord), which received 10.99% of the vote, and the Alliance opposition party with 8.33% of the vote.

Another opposition party, Butun Kyrgyzstan (United Kyrgyzstan), won 7.03% of the vote. The sixth party which managed to pass the 5% electoral threshold is Yiman Nuru (Light of Conscience), which received 6.15% of the vote.

Head of the electoral process organization directorate Tologon Aitikeyev has said that Ata Zhurt Kyrgyzstan will receive 15 seats in the parliament, Ishenim 12, Yntymak nine, Alliance seven, Butun Kyrgyzstan six, and Yiman Nuru five.

Kyrgyzstan held its parliamentary elections on November 28. Deputies were elected under a mixed electoral system, according to which 54 deputies were elected by the proportionate system (on party tickets) in the national electoral district, and 36 deputies are elected in single-member constituencies. In all 1,311 candidates were registered in those elections, including 1,015 candidates from 21 political parties and another 296 in single-seat constituencies.

Victorious political parties needed to pass the 5% threshold, while candidates in single-member constituencies needed to gain a majority of votes. Kyrgyz election laws set no threshold for voter turnout, and elections are declared valid irrespective of how many voters come to the polls.