13 Oct 2021 14:03

Akylbek Japarov appointed Kyrgyz PM, presidential chief of staff

BISHKEK. Oct 13 (Interfax) - Kyrgyz President Sadyr Japarov has appointed a new prime minister, the presidential press service said on Wednesday. 

"Sadyr Japarov has signed an executive order to appoint Akylbek Japarov the Kyrgyz prime minister and the presidential chief of staff and relieve him of his previous duties," the press service said.

The Kyrgyz parliament confirmed the new government led by Prime Minister Akylbek Japarov by 87 of the 120 deputies earlier on Wednesday.

Sadyr Japarov earlier signed an executive order on Tuesday to relieve Prime Minister Ulugbek Maripov's government of its duties.

Another presidential order has relieved of their duties some members of the former government, including Deputy Prime Minister Jyldyz Bakashov, Deputy Prime Minister and Digital Development Minister Dastan Dogoyev, Justice Minister Asel Chynbayeva, and Culture, Information, Sports, and Youth Policy Minister Kairat Imanaliyev.

The president has appointed deputy prime ministers and members of the new government, among them First Deputy Prime Minister Arzybek Kozhoshev, Deputy Prime Minister Aziz Aaliyev, and Deputy Prime Minister Edil Baysarov.

Kamchybek Tashiyev has also been appointed a deputy prime minister. Consistent with the new government structure, he will also chair the State Committee for National Security. 

Daniyar Amangeldiyev will serve as the economy and trade minister, Almaz Baketayev will be the finance minister, and Ayaz Baetov will be the justice minister. 

The new cabinet also includes Azamat Jamankulov as the minister of culture, information, sports and, youth policy and Kudaibergen Bazarbayev as the minister of labor, social protection, and migration.

Positions have been retained by Foreign Minister Ruslan Kazakbayev, Transport and Communications Minister Erkinbek Osoyev, Agriculture, Water Resources, and Regional Development Minister Askarbek Janybekov, Energy Minister Doskul Bekmurzayev, Minister of Natural Resources, Ecology, and Technical Oversight Dinara Kutmanova (Kyrgyzstan used to have a State Ecology and Climate Committee), Health Minister Alymkadyr Beishenaliyev, Education and Science Minister Bolot Kupeshev, Defense Minister Baktybek Bekbolotov, Interior Minister Ulan Niyazbekov, and Emergency Situations Minister Boobek Azhikeyev.