14 Oct 2020 15:51

Kyrgyz president appoints new PM

BISHKEK. Oct 14 (Interfax) - Kyrgyz President Sooronbai Jeenbekov has appointed Sadyr Japarov to the post of prime minister, the presidential press service said on Wednesday.

"The president of Kyrgyzstan has signed a decree to appoint Japarov the republic's prime minister," the press service said.

The presidential decree also appointed Artyom Novikov first deputy prime minister, and Maksat Mamytkanov, Aida Ismailova, and Ravshan Sabirov deputy prime ministers.

Baktybek Amanbayev has become the chief of the government staff.

Other appointments include Foreign Minister Ruslan Kazakbayev, Justice Minister Marat Jamankulov, Finance Minister Kyalbek Mukashev, Economy Minister Sanjar Mukanbetov, Interior Minister Ulan Niyazbekov, Education and Science Minister Almazbek Beishenaliyev, Health Minister Alymkadyr Beishenaliyev, Transport and Roads Minister Bakyt Berdaliyev, Minister of Agriculture, Food Industry, and Melioration Erkinbek Choduyev, Emergency Situations Minister Boobek Ajikeev, Minister of Culture, Information, and Tourism Nurjigit Kadyrbekov, and Minister of Labor and Social Development Ulukbek Kochkorov.

Jirgalbek Sagynbayev has been appointed to the post of chairman of the State Committee for Industry, Energy, and Subsoil Use, and Altynbek Ismailov has become the chairman of the State Committee for Information Technologies and Communications.

Earlier in the day, the Kyrgyz parliament unanimously endorsed Japarov to become the country's new prime minister.

Before the political crisis broke out in Kyrgyzstan, Japarov was serving a prison sentence on charges of taking hostages. His supporters freed him from the penitentiary during the recent protests in the country.