11 Sep 2020 15:58

RDIF names Japan, S. Korea, Greece, Serbia, UAE, and Argentina among potential buyers of Russia's Sputnik V vaccine

MOSCOW. Sept 11 (Interfax) -The Russian Direct Investment Fund (RDIF) has published a list of countries interested in receiving Russia's Sputnik V coronavirus vaccine.

According to the RDIF materials seen by Interfax on Friday, "more than 30 countries accommodating over 50% of the global population" have shown interest in the vaccine.

Mexico is the only North American country on the list. It was reported earlier on Friday that the RDIF has agreed with the Mexican authorities on the delivery of 32 million doses of the vaccine.

The list includes such South American countries as Venezuela, Brazil, Peru, and Argentina. As reported, Brazil will receive 50 million doses of the vaccine and is ready not only to hold clinical trials, but also to produce the vaccine in its territory.

Also, the list includes such African countries as Algeria, Egypt, and Nigeria, and some Middle Eastern countries, including Saudi Arabia, the United Arab Emirates, Kuwait, Israel, Palestine, and Turkey.

Greece, Serbia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Moldova, and Belarus are interested countries in Europe. Possible buyers in Asia are Kazakhstan, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan, India, Nepal, Bangladesh, Vietnam, South Korea, and Japan. There are also Oceanian countries, such as Indonesia, Malaysia, and the Philippines, on the list.

The RDIF has said that India is ready to produce Sputnik V, while Saudi Arabia and the Philippines are ready to start clinical trials as early as this month.