4 Jul 2018 11:24

Dodon set to create pro-presidential majority in Moldovan parliament

CHISINAU. July 4 (Interfax) - Moldovan President Igor Dodon has said he is ready to organize public protests if he fails to create a pro-presidential majority in parliament after the election.

"We stake on the parliamentary election, which should take place this fall. Together with the Party of Socialists, we are seeking to create a pro-presidential parliament majority, which will promote the interests of our state, the Republic of Moldova. The presidential form of government is another possibility. There is no third opinion. If we realize we have no one in parliament to speak with, we will bring people to the street and begin mass protests," Dodon said at a press conference on Tuesday, while summing up the results of his first 18 months in office.

"We will be insistent. The president has submitted over 70 legislative initiatives, proposals, and inquiries in the past 18 months. None of the president's offers has gained support of the parliament and the government. I intend to put forward all of my initiatives again," Dodon said.

The primary objective "is the full restoration of relations with Russia," he said.

"There have been ups and downs in our relations with Russia. The two presidents have a perfect working relationship and complete mutual understanding. We have had a dozen meetings in the past 18 months, and many problems have been resolved with the personal assistance of President Vladimir Putin," Dodon said.

Inter-parliamentary relations have been limited, because only deputies of the Party of Socialists seek to develop relations with Russia, he said.

"Regretfully, we have no relations on the intergovernmental level, because our government is fully boycotting Russia. I am confident that the complete restoration of relations with Russia and a thaw on all levels will be possible only after the parliamentary election," Dodon said.

Dodon was inaugurated as Moldova's president on December 23, 2016. He was elected for a four-year term of office.