7 Nov 2018 17:25

Members of Soyuz crew that failed to reach ISS not on lists for 2019 missions

BAIKONUR. Nov 7 (Interfax) - The cosmonaut Alexei Ovchinin and the NASA astronaut Nick Hague, who made an emergency landing after lifting off on the Soyuz MS-10, have not been included in the list of International Space Station (ISS) crews in 2019, a Baikonur source told Interfax on Wednesday.

"At this point, Alexei Ovchinin and Nick Hague are not on the list of preliminary Soyuz crews for 2019," the source said.

On October 11, Ovchinin and Hague were forced to make an emergency landing after lifting off from the Baikonur Cosmodrome. The accident occurred two minutes into the flight. The reentry capsule landed near the Kazakh town of Zhezkazgan. Soyuz rocket launches were then suspended.