10 Dec 2018 21:13

Moscow regrets EU added several DPR, LPR individuals to sanctions list

MOSCOW. Dec 10 (Interfax) - Russian Permanent Representative to the European Union Vladimir Chizhov said he regretted the EU has imposed new sanctions in connection with the Donbas election, but he does not see anything essentially new in them.

"We cannot say that something had drastically changed. A little bit earlier, the sanctions list was extended in the same way on those, who led the electoral committees in Crimea and Sevastopol. This malign policy has unfortunately been continued," Chizhov said on the TV channel Rossiya 24.

"If speaking about that formally, all of these nine people [added to the sanctions list] are Ukrainian citizens," the Russian permanent representative added.

The Russian side was aware of the decision announced on Monday beforehand, he said.

The Council of the European Union has added nine individuals involved in the elections held in the DPR and the LPR in early November to its sanctions lists on Ukraine.

The list of nine sanctioned DPR and LPR individuals includes newly elected LPR leader Leonid Pasechnik, DPR Central Elections Commissions head Olga Pozdnyakova, LPR Central Elections Commissions head Yelena Kravchenko, DPR parliament speaker Vladimir Bidyovka, LPR parliament speaker Denis Miroshnichenko, DPR Central Elections Commission deputy head Alexei Naidenko, DPR Central Elections Commission secretary Vladimir Vysotsky, and LPR Central Elections Commission deputy heads Yekaterina Tereshchenko and Maxim Svidchenko.