5 Apr 2019 16:13

Armenia endorses provisional free trade agreement with Iran

YEREVAN. April 5 (Interfax) - Armenian President Armen Sarkissian on Friday signed legislation ratifying a provisional agreement on an area of free trade between the Eurasian Economic Union (EAEU) and Iran, the presidential press service said.

The agreement was earlier ratified by the Armenian parliament. The Armenian government approved the bill ratifying the agreement on December 20, 2018.

Iranian Energy Minister Reza Ardakanian had reiterated at a meeting with Russian State Duma Speaker Vyacheslav Volodin in December 2018 that Iran was determined to make sure that its free trade agreement with the EAEU take effect as soon as possible.

The EAEU member states and Iran signed a provisional agreement on setting up a free trade area at an economic forum in Astana on May 17, 2018.

The EAEU is comprised of Armenia, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, and Russia.