10 Jul 2019 15:24

Russia, S. Ossetia lift limits on duration of stay on each other's territory

MOSCOW. July 10 (Interfax) - The Federation Council has ratified a protocol amending the 2015 Treaty on Alliance and Integration between Russia and South Ossetia to lift the limits on the duration of stay on each other's territory.

The sides are lifting the limits on the duration of stay of their citizens on each other's territory imposed by the intergovernmental agreement on visa-free travel of February 1, 2010. The agreement limits the period of stay or transit of citizens of Russia and South Ossetia on each other's territory to 90 days.

All limitations, including those imposed by the 2010 agreement and national laws, are now lifted.

Citizens of South Ossetia will be exempt from Part 1 Article 5 of the Federal Law on the Legal Status of Foreign Citizens in the Russian Federation, which limits the period of a temporary visa-free visit of a foreign citizen to 90 days within every 180-day period.