9 Sep 2019 12:23

Liberal-Democrats to hold 34 of 35 seats in Khabarovsk City Duma - election results

KHABAROVSK. Sept 9 (Interfax) - Nearly all seats in the Khabarovsk City Duma will belong to the Liberal-Democratic Party (LDPR) following the elections on Sunday, the city hall said citing the territorial elections commission.

"The 7th Khabarovsk City Duma has completely changed its composition. Following the vote count, 34 mandates went to LDPR candidates and one to a member of the party A Just Russia," it said.

Voter turnout in the elections was 33.45%.

It has also been reported that LDPR representatives would have a majority at the Khabarovsk Territorial Legislative Duma, garnering 56.12% on the party ticket. Following the LDPR are the Communist Party with 17.24% and United Russia with 12.51%.

A Just Russia got 3.53%, Communists of Russia 3.43%, the Party of Growth 1.74%, and the Rodina party 1.69% of the vote.

Moreover, LDPR representatives won in 22 out of the 24 single-mandate constituencies in the elections to the territorial legislature.

Ivan Pilyayev nominated by the LDPR also won by-elections to the State Duma in Komsomolsk-on-Amur's electoral district No. 70.

The LDPR additionally won a majority of seats at the Komsomolsk-on-Amur City Duma, and its member Alexander Zhornik was elected mayor of this city.

Sergei Furgal, an LDPR nominee, has been governor of the Khabarovsk territory since September 2018.