5 Nov 2019 09:43

Five countries interested in establishing FTA with EAEU - Medvedev

BANGKOK. Nov 4 (Interfax) - Brunei, Indonesia, Cambodia, Thailand, and the Philippines are showing the interest in establishing a free trade area (FTA) with the Eurasian Economic Union (EAEU), Russian Prime Minister Dmitry Medvedev said.

"The Eurasian Economic Union has accumulated the experience of establishing a single market; I would like to emphasize that the organization is open for interaction with all partners that are interested. We welcome the interest expressed by Brunei, Indonesia, Cambodia, Thailand, and the Philippines," Medvedev said at the 14th East Asia Summit on Monday.

A similar agreement has already been signed with Vietnam, Singapore, and China, and talks with India are underway, he said.

Medvedev said he is confident that it is necessary to join the potentials of the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN), the EAEU, and the Shanghai Cooperation Organization (SCO). The idea of forming a greater Eurasian partnership was supported by colleagues at the Russia-ASEAN Summit in 2016, he said.