4 Mar 2020 22:01

Ukrainian parliament approves new government

KYIV. March 4 (Interfax) - Verkhovna Rada has approved a new government at the filing of Prime Minister Denys Shmyhal.

The new government was voted in by 277 deputies on Wednesday evening.

Mykhailo Fedorov has been appointed Vice Prime Minister and Minister of Digital Transformation;

Vadym Prystaiko, Vice Prime Minister for European and Euro-Atlantic Integration;

Oleksiy Reznikov, Vice Prime Minister and Minister for Temporarily Occupied Territories;

Maryna Lazebna, Minister of Social Policy;

Arsen Avakov, Minister of Internal Affairs;

Vadym Gutzeit, Minister of Youth and Sports;

Vladyslav Krykliy, Minister of Infrastructure;

Serhiy Besarab, Minister of Veteran Affairs;

Denys Maliuska, Minister of Justice;

Oleh Nemchynov, Minister of the Cabinet of Ministers;

Oleksiy Chernyshov, Minister for Regional Development;

Illia Yemets, Minister of Healthcare; and

Ihor Umansky, as Minister of Finance.

In the previous government of Oleksiy Honcharuk, which resigned on Wednesday, Fedorov was Vice Prime Minister and Minister for Digital Transformation, Avakov was Minister of Internal Affairs, Kryklyi was Minister of Infrastructure, and Maliuska was Minister of Justice.

Culture Minister Volodymyr Borodiansky will be replaced, for now, by one of his deputies as Acting Culture Minister, a Servant of the People parliamentarian, Yevhenia Kravchuk, wrote on Facebook.

"The office of Minister of Education is still vacant, there will be Acting [Minister of Education]," she wrote.

The previous minister of the cabinet of ministers, Dmytro Dubilet, will "remain in the team," Kravchuk said.