28 Feb 2020 17:23

Kyrgyzstan introducing temporary entry ban for China, Iran, Japan, S. Korea, Italy on March 1, due to coronavirus

BISHKEK. Feb 28 (Interfax) - Kyrgyz authorities have imposed temporary entry restrictions for citizens of China, Iran, Japan, South Korea, and Italy over fears of the spread of the new Covid-19 coronavirus, the press service for the Kyrgyz government said.

"Given the current epidemiological situation worldwide, temporary entry restrictions are being introduced for citizens of China, Iran, Japan, South Korea, and Italy, starting on March 1. The list will be expanded, depending on the global epidemiological situation," the press service said.

The restrictions will apply to all citizens from each of the five countries traveling to Kyrgyzstan for work, tourism, and private business, but not to diplomatic passport holders, it said.

"The entry ban for foreigners is being introduced in relation to the worsening epidemiological situation, as well as the fact that citizens from affected countries continue to arrive in Kyrgyzstan. The processing of Kyrgyz invitations for citizens of these countries will also be put on hold starting on March 1," the press service said.

Citizens of countries which have recorded less than ten cases of coronavirus will be subject to a three-day period of observation upon crossing into Kyrgyzstan.

"All Kyrgyz citizens temporarily residing or staying in the affected countries will be subject to examination upon arrival back home and a 14-day quarantine before being let into the country," the press service said.

The restrictions were proposed by the Health Ministry. The Foreign Ministry has advised against travel to China, Japan, South Korea, Iran, and Italy. On February 24, the authorities decided to place people arriving from Japan, South Korea, and Iran under a 14-day quarantine.