24 Jun 2024 21:26

Russia expands stop list for EU representatives in retaliation to 14th package of European sanctions - Russian Foreign Ministry

MOSCOW. June 24 (Interfax) - Russia is expanding the stop list for EU citizens in retaliation to the new restrictions introduced by the European Union, the Russian Foreign Ministry said on Monday.

"In retaliation to these unfriendly steps, the Russian side is considerably expanding the list of representatives of European institutions and EU member states who are banned from entering our country in accordance with federal law No. 114-FZ of August 15, 1996, On Departure from the Russian Federation and Entry to the Russian Federation," a statement published on the Russian Foreign Ministry's website said.

The Foreign Ministry said that "such actions by the European Union are illegitimate from the point of view of international law as they take place bypassing the UN Security Council, hold absolutely no prospect and only undermine the trust of the states of the global majority in the EU."

The Council of the European Union on Monday approved the 14th package of sanctions against Russia, which, in particular, envisages the introduction of restrictions on 69 individuals and 47 organizations.

The new sanctions package also introduces a ban on the transshipment in the EU ports of Russian liquefied natural gas for supplies to third countries, the Council of the European Union said. Brussels also decided to impose a ban on the use by EU companies of the Bank of Russia's System for Transfer of Financial Messages (SPFS) outside of Russia. The EU also toughened in its 14th package export controls on 61 other organizations, including companies located in China, Turkey, and the United Arab Emirates.