28 Nov 2006 16:21

Interfax press center, bureau open in Khabarovsk

Interfax Information Services Group has announced the opening of its bureau and first press center in the Far East Federal District in Khabarovsk.

“The establishment of a press center of Russia’s leading news agency will help form a comprehensive and objective picture of events taking place in Khabarovsk territory, expand the authorities’ dialogue with society, promote business, and contribute to the implementation of social programs in Khabarovsk territory,” Khabarovsk Territory Governor Viktor Ishayev said in his greetings to Interfax.

“I am convinced that comprehensive coverage of the most crucial events in our region’s political and socioeconomic life will make it possible to form a positive image of Khabarovsk territory as a stable and investment appealing constituent of the Russian Federation,” Ishayev said.

“The creation of a bureau and a press center in Khabarovsk will become a starting point for launching the Group’s seventh large-scale regional project – Interfax-Far East, which will be the final stage in the formation of Interfax’s network of news agencies in all of Russia’s seven federal districts,” Mikhail Komissar, CEO and chairman of the board of directors of Interfax Group, said.

Interfax Group began implementing strategic plans aimed at creating an integrated information space across Russia in 2002, Komissar said. Interfax Group currently has a network of major news agencies, among them Interfax-Center, Interfax-Northwest, Interfax-Volga, Interfax-South, Interfax-Urals, and Interfax-Siberia. Each of the news agencies issues its own information bulletins covering local and federal events for the media, the authorities, industrial enterprises, companies and banks.

Interfax Group has more than 20, press centers in all of the country’s major regions, including Moscow, St. Petersburg, Novosibirsk, Krasnoyarsk, Irkutsk, Tomsk, Nizhny Novgorod, Samara, Saratov, Kazan, Perm, Rostov-on-Don, Krasnodar, Yekaterinburg, Tyumen, Chelyabinsk, Khanty-Mansiisk, Ryazan, Yaroslavl, Voronezh, Smolensk, and Ivanovo.